Blyblog – Jill’s new purchase

I do enjoy reading inscriptions in the front of books which were bought as presents, chosen, paid for and inscribed to a person with love, and hopefully enjoyed and cherished by the recipient.

Today I was about to rummage through a box  on the end of a stall at a carboot I frequently visit in Dewsbury, West Yorkshire, when a green hardback cover gazed lovingly up at me from the top of a pile of what were otherwise damp, boring looking books. When I saw what it was I had palpitations. The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton. In pretty good nick, and with the lovely inscription ‘To Kathleen on her 10th birthday. With heaps of love, from Mummy Nov 27th 1941.’

It’s a fourth impression and it cost me the Faraway sum of just £1. I bit the stallholder’s hand off and walked away a very happy lass! Magic Faraway Tree you’re not so faraway from me now. I only hope Kathleen enjoyed having it as much as I will.

Leave a Reply

