Meck do and mend – Granny Chic finds the chic-less Gran

A piece of Granny Chic

When it first was handed over, it was described as a garden full of primroses, which was a nice way of saying it, as I’m one of those people who follow primrose paths and wear rosy-tinted specs and other similar metaphors.

A very good friend has just crocheted different rosettes of loveliness and turned them into a blanket – just for me, in colours which compliment my living room.

I believe the correct term for this type of handicraft, in modern parlance, is Granny Chic, a relatively up-to-date phrase to describe the sort of stuff you’d do to make pretty things for your home out of scrips and scraps, bits and bobs, odds and sods of the type that your more vintage family members would have had in bygone days.

Discovering vintage recycling

As a young(ish) granny myself – though admittedly a bit down on the ‘chic’ – I do appreciate hand-crafted items recycled from old stuff. My Grandma passed down to me lace doilies, damask table cloths and bits of china which I have always loved and used. I have added vastly to my collection since. A familiar sigh in my house from my poor long-suffering fella is ‘Oh no! Not another embroidered tablecloth!’ ‘appen I’m more chic than I thought.

The same friend who made me the blanket, also recently gave me a book on Granny Chic compiled by Dottie Angel, Ted and Agnes. I’ve recently had a squint on Dottie Angel’s blog site, and would recommend to anyone interested in hand-crafted inspiration to brighten your home. I love the language she uses as she ‘tippety-taps’ all her ideas out into the wider world to share with us all. I would provide a link, but being very new to blogging, and still very technically challenged, I haven’t managed to figure this one out yet!

I’m blessed with lots of very arty and creative friends who have provided me with wondrous and thoughtful homemade stuff over the years, and at times have received in return ponderous gifts stuffed with kapok, embellished with buttons and hand sewn with gallopy stitches. I have plenty of ideas, but translating them into items requires far more figuring out.

Keeping history alive

It would be ace to think that in time, when I’m properly vintage myself, that my own little granddaughters (aged 3 and 1 at the mo) will be interested enough in their Grandma’s collection of historical pieces and assorted oddments to want to keep them alive and used, as I was with my own family stuff. I’m not so sure. Vintage is big news now, but not with everyone. My daughter prefers contemporary modern. They do say sometimes things skip a generation, maybe Lily and Imogen (who have old, traditional names) will become interested in old, traditional things, and help keep history, and my lovely new blanket, alive.

My new blanket. You can’t tell from the picture, but the maroon wool is sparkly

dscf9765

 

My new blanket in situ

dscf9768

Leave a Reply

