Scribblings – Let Rain Fall

From Bare Bones and Boundary Stones

 

Let it soak through my coat,

my clothes, my skin

to bones and out again.

Let me become a river

where a river never was,

feeling a way, as only water can,

carving a route through my garden

round toadflax, marigold, gaillardia,

out the gate, down steps,

soil heaving in my gut.

I’m a new tributary rushing

to meet other tributaries,

each one a neighbour soaked by rain

through coats, clothes, skin,

to bones and out again

through a sluice-gate into

a bubbling world of brown,

spume-white, blue.

 

dscf7849

 

dscf7851

 

 

Leave a Reply

