My ways and By-ways -Dawn up Deer Hill

As I’m on Annual Leave, and have two whole weeks off work, I needed to get out in the cold morning air to blow the cobwebs off everything including my headacheyness. Deer Hill Reservoir is about three miles from me, and in the middle of nowhere. Remote moorland views on a good day, but nothing at all to see this morning when I set off as soon as there was enough light to see what I was doing.

It had rained during the night, and the cloud had settled up above Slawit, covering a good portion of the hills. Sod that, I thought, I’m off out. I took a chance on zero visibility, never good for photography, but thought I might be in with a chance of something atmospheric. Since when has weather stopped me? Well actually I wouldn’t have set off if it was chucking it down. But it wasn’t. Where there’s a Jill, there’s a way.

dsc_0540
It wasn’t quite so misty here.
dsc_0544
Eerie
dscf6628
Road to nowhere…

dsc_0545

dscf6632
Bridleway to nowhere…
dscf6631
I love our drystone walls. They’re full of quirks, and interesting stuff on gateposts.
dscf6629
Drippy gate into a muddy field.
dscf6633
Fog on the res. Footpath to nowhere…
dscf6636
Bank of invisible res
dscf6641
COLD WATER KILLS…if it’s out there.
dscf6647
Deer Hill Reservoir
dscf6643
Reflections

dscf6644

dscf6645

dscf6648
Overspill from a pond into the res.
dscf6649
Steps to nowhere…
dscf6650
Moss, stone, trees, three things I like.

dscf6651

dscf6652
Gate to nowhere…
dsc_0547
Bradley Brook, which runs straight down into Slaithwaite and joins the River Colne
2 thoughts on “My ways and By-ways -Dawn up Deer Hill

Leave a Reply

