My ways and by-ways -There’s mud in them there woods

This morning dawned very cold and grim, foggy with not much light about. The perfect time for a squelch down to the woods. Just a five minute walk from my house is Owlers Wood which is up, and Rotcher Wood which is down.

After seeing what I could photograph (for atmosphere, if nothing else) in poor light conditions, and not doing too badly under the circumstances, the sun is now out and the sky is gleaming as I prepare this for posting. Flippin’ typical. Here are some photos, see what you think.

dscf6691
The hamlet of Blakestones in the mist from above Stones Laithe
dscf6692
A bit of heathery moor
dscf6696
The train from Manchester Victoria to Huddersfield
dscf6708
Gate’ole between fields
dscf6701
Top of Owlers Wood
dsc_2186
Owlers Wood
dscf6705
Still a bit flummoxed about Panoramic setting on camera??? It does look best in fullscreen.
dscf6709
Good job I put my big boots on. Spent most of my time in squidgier stuff than this!
dsc_2196
Down at Rotcher
dsc_2191
Quite liked the brooding atmosphere of this shot
dsc_2197
This virtually limbless tree seemed to go upward forever
dsc_2198
And looking directly up…as if the trees had composed themselves for me.
dsc_2199
I found a full screen of filigree branches and chunky silhouetted trunks might look quite interesting enlarged 
dscf6725
Waited for this little chap to settle down for ages
dscf6736
At a lock gate on the canal
dscf6739
Lock 25E Huddersfield Narrow Canal, Slaithwaite

A couple of these images will be posted to Instagram. Some were taken on my camera, others on my phone Sony Experia Miro.

2 thoughts on “My ways and by-ways -There’s mud in them there woods

Leave a Reply

