Clocking on

If you’ve seen enough of my posts, you’ll be aware that I’m a bit of a scatterbrain when it comes to technology. My cameras are no exception. I’m not too keen to play in case I screw something up. With this in mind, please excuse what’s to follow.

I often leave a little early for my train to work each weekday morning just in case I see something I want to stop for, to try capturing images to turn into something. At Slaithwaite station on Friday I had enough time before the 7am train to consider a railway siding which had previously been bright yellow, and full of beautiful dandelions, Now they’d all turned to seed, but en mass no less spectacular.

I expect fellow passengers waiting for the same train wondered what I was up to, crouched by a gate for ten minutes snapping at dandelion clocks. I was, in fact, playing about with the various settings on my Fujifilm Finepix compact (very basic for some, but a decent little camera and a very good friend to me). I have only just realised it has a b&w setting, and thought I would try a few photosperiments with the different things on the dial rather than just use the EXR automatic setting.

Here are some of my efforts.

DSCF8073

This was just a ‘control’ sample on automatic. Zoomed in a smidge, but otherwise as you see.

DSCF8074

True to form, I have no idea what setting this closer up image was taken on. In honesty, I didn’t have time to jot anything down. But as everything is a learning curve…

DSCF8077

This peculiar image was definitely on a manual mode with an F number. When I got it uploaded it was far too dark to be of any interest or any use whatever and was almost deleted. Then I wondered how it may look with one of my computer’s filters on it, which is something I don’t usually do on nature photos. Tried this and thought the clocks looked luminous and other-worldly, and a bit weird. What do you reckon?

DSCF8082

Set to black and white to see how they came out, again on another dial setting.

DSCF8084

Finally, still in monochrome, I decided to see how this composition looked on a bigger screen. There was some fluffiness, some parts a bit sharper, and evidence of recent rain.

Then it was necessary to cram my camera back into my bag as the train was pulling in. Time to head off to work and clock in.

I may not fully understand the technicalities of how to use my cameras, the manuals are useless, but I must spend quality time taking more notice of aperture settings and what works best for each individual shot. Lucky for me, at this stage, I do not have any cameras with interchangeable lenses, but I daresay I may one day…

3 thoughts on “Clocking on

  1. Dandelion seedheads are always so photogenic. Great photos! And hey, the locals here probably think I am crazy when I get up to my photography antics, sometimes lying belly flat on the ground to get the best angle of a mushroom or something, lol! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

